About us

Conference Chair:

 Loella Haskew,

Mayor City of Walnut Creek

Vice Chair:

Alex Walker-Griffith,

Council Member City of Hercules

City Selection Comm. Chair:

Tessa Rudnick, Mayor City of El Cerrito

City Selection  Comm.  Vice Chair

 Dan Romero, Mayor, Hercules

Executive Director

Gary F. Pokorny

2221 Spyglass Lane

El Cerrito, CA 94530-1883

(510) 508-0052  



The Contra Costa County Mayors Conference was established in 1951. 

Its main purpose is to be an educational forum for local elected officials and a 

place to network and exchange information.  

Additionally, the Conference may take positions on important issues facing member agencies. Finally, the Conference acts as the Contra Costa City Selection Committee in appointing City representation to area-wide agencies.

The Conference generally meets the first Thursday of each month 

(unless that date is a holiday or otherwise has a conflict). In case of such conflicts, 

the meeting is typically moved to the second Thursday.

The meeting location rotates among the 19 Contra Costa cities and during the pandemic was held via Zoom teleconference.  

While the work of the Conference is led by the 

19 mayors, all council members, members of the Contra Costa

Board of Supervisors, and the local legislative 

delegation are encouraged to attend. The 

day-to-day work of the Conference is handled by 

Gary Pokorny, Executive Director.

This web site is primarily for the purpose of 

providing access to and distribution of agenda 

materials for monthly meetings. Other 

information will be posted from time to time.